Camping, Hiking, & Biking…Oh my!!!

Memorial Day Weekend.
It’s a long anticipated weekend here in the US of A. One of our few yet glorious 4 day weekends. People often get so caught up in the fun of a 4 day weekend that they forget the real meaning behind the Holiday. (And its not just so people can have an extended weekend.)

Memorial Day is a day for remembering those that have served in the different branches of our country’s military, sacrificed so much, and have not come home. I work very hard to instill pride in our country into my children. American Pride and utmost respect for those who risk so much to serve us. (Including Army, Airforce, Navy, Marines, Police, Firefighters and more) I want my kids to know those who put their lives on the line for us every day and to treat them with honor and respect. This is another one of those times where I try more than ever to make sure they appreciate all these people have done for them. To me, its not just about showing honor and respect, but appreciation. They do what they do so that we can have the lives that we have. So we can enjoy our families instead of having to worry about the threats to us and our country that they deal with daily.

So…enjoy my family I did! We went camping with family as we do every Memorial Day Weekend!

We started the weekend with a bang…literally! We were driving in and bang. A biscuits can (like crescent roll cans that pop when opened and scare the bejesus out of you) exploded on its own in the car. Nice. So I grabbed what was still  good and a brandy old fashioned and attempted camping monkeybread!




Then the rain came and the night ended a little earlier than planned.

I have to say…. Rain while camping may not be the best thing, but I love the sound of rain falling on the roof of the camper! It’s so peaceful!

Saturday started beautifully! The weather was gorgeous! The kiddos worked on filling out their junior park ranger books. They have tasks to do to complete them… Like looking under rocks for critters!


Dad helped the boys out too!!!

We had a whole day full of bike riding and swimming and more. Although…while the kids and men hung out at the beach…my sis n law and I went for a nice long walk!

The kids (boys especially) spent most of the weekend biking around and around and around. They were determined to carry their American Flags with them everywhere they went and kept chanting “USA!! USA!! USA!!” or Yelling “AMERICA” 



(Yes…America. Not Murica or Merica or whatever the crappy shortened version of it that is flying around now a days is. I told them to respect their country and use its real name.) Gotta love their country pride!


 

The rest of that night got kinda icky. It didn’t just rain. It assault downpoured on us. People got drunk and annoying. People got emotional. Hey, its a rainy day camping and being cold and wet and rained on can ruin anyone’s good mood. We ended up playing cribbage and apparently I became a target for my TL and JK to throw june bugs at. I am not afraid of them but think they are gross and them flying at me can make me squeak a bit. So, they took it upon themselves to grab all the june bugs they could and actually throw them AT me.


Once that started, the night became short lived and off to bed we went.

 

The next day was filled with all sorts of adventures.

I got into an argument with someone about why they can’t say its ok for my child to use an axe to chop wood after I specifically said no. “But I said it is ok.” Ummm…yeah, but last time I checked you aren’t the parent. You didn’t push for 25-26 hours to get him out and you sure as heck aren’t his paper by legal documentation so….Nope…you have no say. If I say NO, I mean NO and you WILL respect that. But seriously, what about letting a 10, 9, and 7 year old goof off and chop wood together seems like a smart idea? Especially when 2 of the 3 don’t know how to use an axe. Yep, lets let them go off and chop wood.

Ummm…..no.

The day quickly got better. Hubby was throwing a hula hoop in the air for my CareBear and she thought it was the funniest thing ever. 



She was laughing so deep and so hard that her laugh could be heard from several campsites down. It’s one of those completely infectious and contagious laughs. I couldn’t get over it. Hubby was loving every minute of the attention.


 

With the wood chopping nixed by me, my boys quickly opted for some tree climbing. As there was a half chopped down tree behind our site…it was the perfect spot. 


So many branches to climb under and over. Daring to walk out as far as they could onto the skinniest of branches to see if it might hold them. Next thing you know it turned into some sort of a game. I love a child’s creativity. To turn something so simple into something so wonderful and magical.


 I was asked to braid of of my nieces hair and next thing you know, Its Auntie’s hair salon right on the picnic table. I braided 4 of the girls hair as well as both of my sisters n law. (CL and JK) Once a walk was suggestion…I was quick to say yes! My hands were starting to ache. Ha Ha. 

The walk was full of laughs, beautiful views, flower picking, putting flowers in our hair like rapunzel, races, exploring and more. 



We were all soon lost in our own worlds. The kids weren’t up for more than a short walk before they were itching to bike and just hang out.


 The weekend became a walking/hiking weekend for me and CL though. We opted for another walk. This time on a loop of a trail that she found that promised some good views. She was anxious to achieve her 20,000 fit bit steps award so…off her, my mom n law, and myself went. It started like a normal hike with some trail walking and a little uphill walking and a beautiful view to start. 



Then, it quickly turned into something else. Nature’s very own STAIRMASTER!


The trail became tons of little wooden steps in the side of the hill. We approached the first set as a challenge and half ran up them.

TAKE THAT STAIRMASTER!


 Each set became more and more challenging as they got steeper and we got higher up and more tired as we went. The woods and the views were beautiful.

And while it was more than we expected, it was definitely worth the hike! I would do it again in a heartbeat! 


We even found out that there is a trail from this state park to a tower as well as to another state park that is 6 miles away. CL and I plan on taking it on someday.
The night was more enjoyable than the previous one. We had some good times. We found bugs and worms…




My niece Avea lost a tooth…somewhere in her smore.

And…I got a psychic vision into a future of emergency room visits and broken bokes with a newly developed daredevil on our hands…


Oh….and Don’t forget another walk. Yup. A night hike complete with gross hanging bugs (That I almost walked face first into)


 The next day was shortlived as (just like a hotel) we have a certain time to be out of our campsite by. We packed up and spent what was left out out time there at the beach. The kids swam and played. We watched a drone flying over head and even got to talk to the guy who had it and inspect it a bit more. CamMan thought it looked like something out of Star Wars.

 

All in all….we had a good weekend. And when you have kids who are more like eachother’s best friends than cousins…..how can it be anything but good. I am  thankful each and every day that I live so close to my family and husband’s family. I was close to my cousins growing up and I love that they are close to theirs. It makes me think of me and my cousins growing up as kids. Oh the memories it brings back and….oh the memories they kids will have when hey grow up!


Hope you all had a great Memorial Day Weekend (Or normal weekend if you aren’t of the USA!)

  


P.S. This was meant to post end of May. However, I was having issues with wordpress and got so frustrated that I saved it as a draft and said screw it….time for a blog break. I have enough going on without having to worry about the blog. Then, yesterday I got a notification that someone liked & commented on it (Hi Clare) and went…..what???? So, I hurried on to finish it. Sorry for any confusion!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Camping, Hiking, & Biking…Oh my!!!

    • OneBusyMama says:

      OMG…..this wasn’t done yet, not supposed to have posted. I’ve had so many issues with WordPress lately I just stopped writing. Now what else is going to post that isn’t supposed to! Just wait till I actually finish it….lol!

      Like

  1. OneBusyMama says:

    I forgot to say that I finished it. I’ve been having issues with WP and just said screw it and deleted the app for a bit.

    Sounds to me like you need a camper! Ha ha! Will have to swing by your corner of the blogging world later today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

