To 39 or not to 39?

The other day I was watching tv and a commercial came on that inspired me.

Now, it wasn’t one of those “You need to come to this amazing beautiful heaven on earth resort for your next vacation” commercials. It was a commercial that I didn’t expect.

It was a commercial for the Avon39. The Walk to end Breast Cancer.

Basically, it is a 2 day/39 mile walk.

One of my Blogger Buddies that I frequently stalk Clare over at Mudd and Nettles does long walk challenges and I give her major props. She did a marathon walk. I’d love to be able to do something like this. Right now I am so inspired to give it a try, but I don’t know if I have enough time to train for it. It would be taking place over summer…depending on which location I pick since none are super close to me. So….maybe 6 months to prepare and about 2-3 more months of snow and winter to deal with.

In the last year and a half, I have completely changed my life. I have changed my eating habits and become so much more active. I have run a 5k…with less than amazing results…but it was something I wouldn’t have been able to do a few years ago. I’ve started hiking. We spent a whole weekend in the dells hiking back in October. My goal that weekend was to hit 25,000 steps on my fitbit. Success!!!! When I add up the steps per miles….thats about 10 miles. While we started at 8am and got back about 4-5pm….we also did lots of stopping to take photos and such and most of the hike was an uphill battle.

So, basically, I am asking myself if I have the time to train properly to do this walk. If I decide to do the walk…I would want to finish it. (I know they say that as much as you can do is helping, but I wouldn’t want to start an not finish. I’m stubborn.) I have been inspired to try something new. Now its just a matter of deciding if I have the time to prepare myself to do it! I also need to decide if I want to walk along or start a team.

Has anyone else completed longer walks like this? If so, do you have any training tips for me? Any thoughts? Any comments? Any suggestions?

Is 6 months (2-3 of which still have crappy winter weather) enough to prepare for a walk like this?

If anyone else is curious about this amazing opportunity….check out Avon39.org for more information. You know…the who, what, when, and where of it all!

 

6 thoughts on “To 39 or not to 39?

  1. Clare says:

    Go for it! I did the marathon with no training for months, so the schedule you have is achievable. The biggest challenge is stopping blisters and getting a few good long walks in your walking shoes to soften them up. As for stamina just keep fuel loading (stuffing your face.) and you’ll be fine. Sounds lovely over two days. The deal breaker for me would be what the route is like. If it’s a nice place to walk – excellent, if not you will feel every single one of those miles.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OneBusyMama says:

      Both locations I would use are bigger cities. So…..I would assume paved walking paths. Do you walk with a backpack full of stuff? I wouldn’t even know what would be good walking shoes. Ha ha. I am waiting for more information from the place hosting the events for walking routes and such. Plus….while there’s a $50 registration fee….there also an expected $1,800 fundraising quota. So…..I have some questions that need answering.

      Like

Leave a Reply

